It’s been 9 months!

It’s been a while… I really had good intentions to blog about my hair journey at least once a week, but I got busy with school and work and other things.  I’ve been working on a slideshow that I’m going to post on youtube in November to mark the 1 year anniversary of my BC!  I’ll be sure to post the link when it’s up.

I have NOT stopped loving my hair for one second of this journey.  My relaxed hair is not missed AT ALL.

Here are a couple of current pictures of my natural hair.

I’ve changed my regimen a bit.  What I do now is co-wash with Herbal Essences Hello Hydration and condition with V05 Moisture Milks conditioner.  I use warm water during the co-wash, but when I rinse out the V05, I switch to cold water (took me a while to get used to that after being used to taking very hot showers for years).  For a leave-in, I use Cantu Shea Butter leave-in conditioning cream.  It leaves my hair soft all day.

I also use Olive Oil Eco Styler Gel (the one in the green jar) when I need gel.  It’s really moisturizing.  It gets hard only when I use it in excess to do the shingling process (I think that’s the correct name for the process).  Here’s a picture of it:

When the gel dries it’s a bit… um… crunchy…. but it’s not bad.  It doesn’t bother me.  I’ve never worn this style for more than one day.  I always wash it out at the end of the day or first thing in the morning the next day.

edit 8.29.10: I left my “shingling” style up for 4 days!  I could have gone longer, but I was really eager to have my natural nappy back 🙂  When I washed out the Eco Styler, my hair was SO SOFT!  I loved it!  The olive oil in the gel really conditioned my hair for those four days and I loved the results.

I haven’t done many styles with my natural hair as of yet, but I plan to do more experimenting.  This winter, I’m going to have to find a protective style that I like, so if anyone has any ideas for me, let me know.

~ by neyshawbin on August 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
